Riley and Julie

Riley and Julie

Name:

Riley and Julie

State of residence:

Minnesota

Children already in family:

None

Type of work:

Riley is a structural engineer. Julie is a technology trainer.

Education:

Riley has a Bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering. Julie has a Bachelor’s degree in Communication.

Hobbies:

Riley enjoys running, hunting, fishing, and curling. Julie enjoys reading, vegetable gardening, and woodworking. Together, many of our interests involve being active and outside. We play in volleyball, softball, and bocce ball leagues with friends, and also curling in the winter. Wiffle ball tournaments, yard games, and our annual Summer Yard Olympics are done with family and friends in the summer. We also enjoy attending local theater productions, playing board games, and just winding down on the patio with chips and salsa or on the couch with a good movie. We like to experiment with planting new things in the vegetable garden, and trying new recipes with the things we grow (salsas from the garden, along with applesauce from our apple trees, are some fall favorites!) We also love to spend time at Riley’s parents’ cabin, which is about an hour drive from us in Wisconsin. Kayaking, paddleboarding, pontoon rides, saunas, bonfires, and lots of good food and laughs are constants at the cabin!

Plans for working and/or daycare:

Riley will take 2 weeks off of work initially, and Julie will take 12. Following that, we will use a combination of a trusted, licensed daycare and both of our moms for childcare.

Health:

We are both in great health and non-smokers.

Ethnicity of each parent:

Riley is Caucasian. Julie is Caucasian and Native American.

Race of child open to:

We are open to children of any race.

Age:

Riley is 31. Julie is 32.

Religion:

Christian. We attend Lutheran church.

Plans for number of children:

1-2

Pets:

We have two sweet, fluffy cats named Wrigley and Surly.

Our story:

We actually grew up just a few miles away from each other, but didn’t meet until our freshman year of college in 2007. We met through mutual friends and bonded over our faith and shared love of baseball. We dated throughout college with Riley living in Michigan and Julie in

Minnesota, and were married in 2011. We have enjoyed 8 years of marriage full of love and laughter, and we can’t wait to add children into our family. We have talked about adopting since before we were married, as adoption exists in many facets of our life. We really have adoption on our hearts and feel that it is how we are meant to grow our family.

About Riley by Julie:

Riley has a reputation for being a steady, dependable, all-around good guy. He was voted as “best personality” in his high school yearbook and they must have been correct, because somehow I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who doesn’t like him! He is patient and gentle with our friends’ kids and I know he will be the most patient, fun, loving, and present dad. He will totally be the guy coaching every team and volunteering for every opportunity.

Riley is smart, funny, and dedicated to his work, his family, and everything else he commits to. Last year, he decided he was going to train for a 50K (31 mile) trail race. Not only did he finish the race but he beat his time goal by over an hour, and smiling the entire time!

One of the best things about Riley is that we can be at a Twins game, at a theater production, out snowshoeing, or on the couch with a movie and he’s equally happy to be doing any one of them! People are drawn to his enthusiasm for life. He is the best husband I could imagine. Some of the things I love most about him are his strong faith, how he always puts his family first, and how he always makes me laugh.

About Julie by Riley:

Julie is kind, smart, dependable, funny, and caring. She loves her family and friends and always puts them first.

Julie is quick to lend a hand and help others when needed. One way she does this is by helping friends and family with projects, both big and small. Recently she installed flooring for friends who purchased a house, and also coordinated a kitchen renovation for her aunt and uncle (she installed that flooring, too!)

Julie is known in the family to be the family event and party planner. She loves to celebrate people and make them feel special, and loves any excuse to get everyone together to make fun memories. She has thrown some memorable anniversary and birthday parties. I look forward to the celebrations and parties that will be held for future children!

Julie will be a fun, loving, exceptional mom. I have seen this in how she cares for, reads to, plays with, talks to, and loves our friends’ and extended families’ children.

From both of us:

Ultimately, we want you to know that we will love a child unconditionally and will devote our lives to raising a happy, healthy, kindhearted person. We promise to create a strong foundation of faith, education, and experiences, and to provide the child with all the love, comfort, guidance, and happiness we can.

Know that you will always be an important part of the child’s life and they will always know and appreciate you, and know where they came from. We are open to whatever level of contact and openness you desire and feel comfortable with. We are committed to honoring our family’s relationship with you, however you envision that looking.

Thank you for getting to know us! We are sending you love and wishing you strength, courage, and peace in whatever decision you make.